Babes Ride Out


Roll Call | Lexi Pechout | Babes in the Dirt 3

Roll CallAnya Violet

Meet Lexi Pechout, 2014 AMA Endurocross Championship, Husqvarna rider and all around lover of dirt. We cannot wait to ride with her at Babes in the Dirt 3!

Where are you from? 

Calgary Alberta

Tell us about your childhood and how you got into riding.

I started riding at the age of two, as soon as I was strong enough to twist the throttle and stand on my own I was put on a motorcycle. I am extremely grateful for the way I was raised; my family was very involved in the motorcycle community, putting on races and setting up events. I always had fun and I think it has had a positive influence on who I am and my abilities as a rider. I had the opportunity to try new things and to constantly get out of my comfort zone. My parents always encouraged me to try but without any pressure to strive to be a champion or to race and ride forever, just at least try it once and if i didn’t like it, that was always okay. Growing up riding motorcycles was what we did every weekend as a family, it was something we all loved to do and we could do with our closest friends. I fell in love with the sport more and more.  As my skills improved, I became more competitive.  In 2012/2013 we started taking things to a whole new level traveling to the USA for my first AMA Endurocross.  This lead to qualifying and competing in the X-Games along with the 2013 ISDE in Italy to name a few of the events that were game changers that year.

Take us through the different bikes you had over the years.

I started on a Yamaha PW50 with a sidecar instead of training wheels, and quickly went up the ladder... CR50, CRF70, DR-Z 110, DR-Z 125, CRF 150R. When I turned 13 I was finally big enough to ride a full size bike! My first big wheel bike was a KTM 250 XC, I LOVED this bike and it was a super easy transition from my Honda 150. Getting on a big wheel bike was a game changer for me, I had so much more confidence and felt so comfortable. I stayed on the same bike from 2011-2013 then transitioned to GASGAS, then Sherco and now Husqvarna. 

What is your favorite bike now and why?

I am currently riding a Husqvarna FC 250 and I LOVE it! I ride many different disciplines, everything from motocross, cross country, ice racing, to endurocross and everything in between, I feel that this bike has great diversity and really fits my riding style. I, not only, love the bike but I also love the Husqvarna brand and what they stand for. Motorcycling is more than just racing to me; it truly is a lifestyle and I believe that Husqvarna has that same view.  While professional, they stand for more than just a first place, they are about the life style that surrounds the sport, the influence that they can have on people, the overall experience of riding a Husky. If you have ever thrown a leg over a motorcycle, you know what I am talking about.

Tell us about some of your favorite places to ride.

-Alberta/British Columbia anywhere and everywhere in the mountains! The terrain, and views are amazing and there is always so much variety!

-Moab! This place is so amazing to go explore, you are always able to push the limits and get out of your comfort zone.

-Sardina, Italy. Everything from flowing trails in the mountains to ripping up the white sand beaches. Definitely a must-do if you ever get the chance.

Is there a style of terrain that you love the most?

So many to choose from but I love off-road riding and can really appreciate a riding day after a good rain when the dirt is loamy.

What are areas or places on your bucket list?

I would love to ride in New Zealand, Erzberg, Colorado and definitely some motocross track in California.

Have you always rode dirt bikes with other women? Were there a lot of women riding when you were growing up? 

No, unfortunately there were not very many women riding when I was growing up, there were a handful that were out racing with the boys but they were much older than I was and I never got a chance to ride with them until they stopped racing. Recently there are more women getting into the sport and I think it is so cool! I have been coaching riding schools the last couple of years to teach women the fundamentals of racing and riding, and encouraging them to get into it (I know how intimidating it can be).

Tell us about your riding career as of now. What has been your most proud moment?

There are so many to choose from! My most proud moment would be winning the 2014 AMA Endurocross Championship. So much work was put in that year and to pull it all off was an incredible feeling.  Definitely a moment I will never forget.

How did you hear about Babes Ride Out?

Through Husqvarna and Instagram

Do you promise to show us some skills and Babes in the Dirt 3 this year?